About Post45

Post45 is a collective of scholars working on American literature and culture since 1945. The group was founded in 2006 and has met annually since to discuss new work in the field. We celebrated our fifth year of existence with a larger conference at the Rock Hall in Cleveland, April 29 & 30th, 2011. In November of 2013, the board voted to invite scholars in the field to propose Post45 conferences to be hosted at their own institutions. If you are interested in discussing the possibility of hosting a Post45 conference, please contact us.

Post45 is committed to the discussion of work-in-progress among a relatively small group of scholars. The format of the symposium ensures lively and substantive discussion of cutting-edge work in the field, and allows participants to exchange ideas and receive feedback while the work is still in development.

Past Symposia:

2006 Concordia University, Montreal, Canada. Hosted by Mary Esteve
2007 Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts. Hosted by J.D. Connor
2008 Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut. Hosted by Amy Hungerford
2009 University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri. Hosted by Andrew Hoberek
2010 Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island. Hosted by Deak Nabers
2011 Cal Tech, Pasadena, California. Hosted by Catherine Jurca and Michael Szalay
2012 Stanford University, Palo Alto, California. Hosted by Mark McGurl and Michael Szalay
2013 University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois. Hosted by Deborah Nelson.
2014 University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Hosted by Florence Dore.

Board Members
J.D. Connor
Yale University 

Florence Dore
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Mary Esteve
Concordia University (Montreal)

Loren Glass
University of Iowa 

Amy Hungerford
Yale University

Kate Marshall
University of Notre Dame

Sean McCann
Wesleyan University

Deak Nabers
Brown University

Michael Szalay
University of California, Irvine

Rachel Adams
Columbia University

David Alworth
Harvard University

Amanda Anderson
Brown University

Elizabeth Anker
Cornell University

Jason Arthur
Central Methodist University 

Sally Bachner
Wesleyan University

Kate Baldwin
Northwestern University 

Tim Bewes
Brown University

Sara Blair
University of Michigan

Christopher Breu
Illinois State University

Adrienne Brown
University of Chicago

Tom Cerasulo
Elms College

Abigail Cheever
University of Richmond

Sarah Chihaya
Princeton University

Hillary Chute
University of Chicago

Michael Clune
Case Western Reserve University 

Todd Cronan
Emory University

Brian Edwards
Northwestern University

Michele Elam
Stanford University

Harris Feinsod
Northwestern University

Jennifer Fleissner
Indiana University

Jonathan Freedman
University of Michigan 

Mark Goble
University of California, Berkeley

Richard Godden
University of California, Irvine 

Dan Grausam
Durham University

Christopher Grobe
Amherst College

Martin Harries
University of California, Irvine

Amy Herzog
City University of New York 

Oren Izenberg
University of California, Irvine 

Virginia Jackson
University of California, Irvine 

Patrick Jagoda
University of Chicago 

David James
Queen Mary, University of London

Cathy Jurca
California Institute of Technology 

Eleanor Kaufman
University of California, Los Angeles 

Heather Love
University of Pennsylvania

Theodore Martin
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Mark McGurl
Stanford University 

Paula Moya
Stanford University

Rolland Murray
Brown University

Deborah Nelson (Founding Member of the Board)
University of Chicago

Sianne Ngai
Stanford University 

Kinohi Nishikawa
Princeton University

Will Norman
University of Kent (UK) 

Franny Nudelman
Carleton University (Ottawa)

Tom Perrin
Huntingdon College

Vaughn Rasberry
Stanford University

Anthony Reed
Yale University

Margaret Ronda
Rutgers University

Michael Rothberg
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign 

Ramón Saldívar
Stanford University 

Scott Saul
University of California, Berkeley

Steven Schryer
University of New Brunswick 

Alison Shonkwiler
Rhode Island College

Lisa Siraganian
Southern Methodist University

Richard So
University of Chicago 

Michael Trask
University of Kentucky 

Fred Whiting
University of Alabama 

Matthew Wilkens
University of Notre Dame 

Alex Woloch
Stanford University



This site was made possible through the generosity of the Office of the Provost, Yale University.